Re: Total newbie Installation

EJ SHELDON

I have TH3, but a quick look at the THU manual indicates no changes in MIDI.
I also have the UNO chip, so what I tell you about the stock chip is 10 year old memories. If I send you an example sysex I'll be creating it manually with one of the editors that are compatible with the stock chip. BTW - what editor are you using?

The manual is pretty clear on establishing the connections to your Audio Interface and MIDI controller.
Your main consideration is logistical, as the THU MIDI implementation is just OK.

THU has LOTS of presets located in LOTS of BANKS.
Unfortunately, it doesn't allow for changing banks via MIDI. This means that the MIDI Option "Program Changes recall presets in the current Bank" means exactly that.
If you want to use a preset in a different bank, you'll need to change banks manually. The BANK switches on the FCB DO NOT transmit MIDI, and can't be used to switch THU Banks.

The best way to deal with this is to save all the presets you use regularly into a custom user bank. You can name it "My Presets" or some such.

The FCB allows access to 100 presets of the 128 allowed by the MIDI Spec. IIRC, a factory reset numbers the presets/pedals 1-100.
PC#s change presets. CC#s toggle effects. A given pedal can send a PC# and 2 CC#s (and other stuff not relevant to using THU) on load. Those 2 CCs can be set to toggle on successive presses of the pedal. You can use different CCs in different presets. You can also configure a pedal to sen ONLY the CCs without sending a PC.

THU allows you to toggle effects in CATEGORIES, not by specific effect. If you create a preset with two Overdrives, they'll both be toggled using the SAME CC#.
You can assign CC#s GLOBALLY or per preset. A globally assigned CC is overridden by a preset assigned CC.