Topics

Programming flowchart X-Air 18

networker1@...

Greetings...

I searched and found no posts related to this. I am totally new to MIDI and programming.
Does anybody has a programming flowchart for use with the X-Air 18? I am attaching the MIDI info for the mixer.

Thanks!!

chrisw_63

This is pretty straightforward.  Incidentally, I had one of these for almost a year, and it worked great, though we never used any of it's MIDI stuff.  It was our first digital mixer, and the church liked it so much they upgraded to the X32 Rack.

So, first you have to note that the Faders, Mutes, and Pans are A.) all on different MIDI channels, and B.) all controlled via CC values.  This requires some planning, because of the way the FCB sends MIDI.  It can technically send CC (Continuous Controller) messages on four different channels, but those channels are set up GLOBALLY - You cannot change them without reprogramming the FCB1010.  CNT 1 and CNT 2 can each have their own MIDI channel, as can each Expression pedal.

A little clarification if you aren't familiar with the FCB's MIDI setup.  If you are, go to the next paragraph.  Each Preset on the FCB can do ten things when it's pressed.  1-5: Send five PRG CHG messages. 6 and 7: Send two CC messages labelled CNT 1 and CNT 2.  8 and 9: Set up the two expression pedals (including their CC#, min value and max value), and lastly, 10: Send a Note message.

CNT 1 and CNT 2 can only send one value each.  If you set CNT1 to send CC# 31 with a value of '00', it will mute MainLR on the XR18.  However, if you set Both CNT1 and CNT2 to the same CC# with whatever values, instead of sending two CC messages with different values, it will TOGGLE, sending the CNT1 value the first time you press it, and the CNT2 value on the second press.  Perfect for a MUTE button.  So in GLOBAL setup, set CNT1 and CNT2 to both use MIDI channel 2.